Scholarship Opportunities

Each spring semester, the Department of Mathematics awards several scholarships.  Information and applications can be found on the Financial Aid site.

Scholarship Information


The BING AWARD is named for R.H. Bing. Dr. Bing received a BA degree from Southwest Texas Teachers College in 1935. He married Mary Blanche Hobbs in 1938. Dr. Bing received a Ph.D. from the University of Texas in 1945. He taught at the University of Wisconsin and the University of Texas. He served as President of the Mathematical Association of America in 1964 and as President of the American Mathematical Society in 1978. Dr. Bing has been honored as one of Texas State’s Distinguished Graduates. Dr. Bing died in 1986.


The ROBERT AND BRITA NORTHCUTT AWARD is named for Robert Allan Northcutt and Brita Stalder Northcutt. Robert was born in Luling, Texas and Brita was born in Fürth, Germany. They were married in San Antonio, Texas. Robert started as an instructor in the Department of Mathematics in 1964 and retired in 2006 as Distinguished Professor Emeritus. He served 10 years as Chair of the Department of Mathematics. Dr. Northcutt served as President of the Texas Section of the Mathematical Association of America. He served as Governor of the Texas Section and was awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award as well as the Distinguished Service Award by the Texas Section of the MAA. Bob and Brita live in San Marcos.


The ROSS AND SARAH WAYMENT ENDOWED FUND FOR MATHEMATICS AND MATHEMATICS EDUCATION AWARD was inaugurated in 1987 by Dr. Stanley G. Wayment in honor of his parents, Ross and Sarah Wayment. Dr. Wayment was a Professor and Chair of the Department of Mathematics at Texas State University for 25 years. The fund is used to support activities of students, faculty, and teaching alumni who are engaged in the study, research, training, and teaching of mathematics.


The DON AND HELEN CUDE AWARD is named for Don Horner Cude and Helen Ebeling Cude. Don was born in Tennessee in 1901 and at the age of 16 joined the army to fight in WWI.  Helen was born in Texas in 1908. She attended Texas Women’s University and the University of Texas. Don and Helen married when he was the superintendent of schools in Marble Falls, Texas. Helen had been a mathematics teacher at Marble Falls High School until they married. Don earned a BS and MS degree from Southwest Texas and was hired as an instructor in 1941. He retired in 1970, having served 25 years as Professor and Chair of the Mathematics Department. Helen died in 1989 and Don died in 1994.


The LYNN TULLOCH AWARD is named for Lynn Tulloch. Dr. Tulloch was a former faculty member who received his B.A. from Baylor University, his M.A. from Brown University, and his Ph.D. from the University of Texas. Dr. Tulloch retired from then Southwest Texas State University in the late 1970s. During his time with various universities he was awarded the National Science Foundation Faculty Fellowship and was listed as one of the American Men of Science.