Department Scholarships

There are a number of scholarships awarded by the Department of Mathematics described below, including eligibility information. To apply, use the Bobcat Online Scholarship System (BOSS).

Award amounts may vary from year to year. Typically awards are a few hundred dollars to a few thousand dollars unless otherwise stated in the descriptions below.

decorative image
  • R.H. Bing (1914–1986) was a renowned and highly-esteemed mathematician. A pioneer in the field of topology, which he described as “geometry with a modern slant,” Bing greatly contributed to the field of mathematics with numerous theorems and publications. Later in his career, he served as president of the Mathematical Association of America and as president of the American Mathematical Society. He completed his undergraduate education at Texas State University (then Southwest Texas State Teachers College) and had to work his way through his bachelor’s degree in the college’s cafeteria. In 1984, the university endowed funds for the R. H. Bing Achievement Scholarship to support undergraduate students studying mathematics, with a preference for those who have an interest in or have successfully completed topology.

  • Dr. Robert Northcutt was a professor of mathematics at Texas State University for over 30 years. The Robert and Brita Northcutt Mathematics Scholarship provides opportunity to undergraduate students pursuing studies in mathematics at Texas State University. Recipients must:

    • be pursuing a degree within the Department of Mathematics
    • maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0
    • be in good standing with the University
    • be enrolled full time (preferred)
  • The Don and Helen Cude Mathematics Scholarship honors Don Cude, alumnus and former mathematics professor and chairman at Texas State University (then Southwest Texas State University) and his wife Helen Ebeling Cude. Both Dr. and Mrs. Cude were public school teachers who endowed this scholarship to reward outstanding students in the field of mathematics. Selection guidelines include:

    • Not previously received an award from this endowment
    • Preference for students pursuing teaching certification
    • Full time enrollment (12 hours or more) in good standing with the university and an overall GPA of at least 3.0.
    • Application materials should address the candidate’s academic merit, leadership, and intellectual promise
  • The Lynn H. Tulloch Math Scholarship provides financial assistance to students pursuing teaching certification in mathematics. Recipients must:

    • Pursue teaching certification with a major in mathematics
    • Maintain a minimum 3.0 GPA
    • Be enrolled full time
    • Preference given to athletes.
  • The Ram Lal Seekri Endowed Scholarship in Mathematics honors Dr. Ram Lal Seekri, who believed that education is the key to success, security, and happiness. Recipients must demonstrate financial need.

  • Stanley G. Wayment established the endowed fund for the benefit of future generations of mathematics teachers at Texas State University in honor of his father and mother, Ross and Sarah Wayment. The endowment provides scholarships to outstanding students of mathematics.

  • Through a generous donation from the family, Peggy Cuevas established this scholarship in honor of her husband, Dr. Gilbert J. Cuevas, a popular faculty member who was instrumental in the early days of the doctoral program in Mathematics Education. This scholarship will be awarded to graduate students at Texas State University using the below criteria:
    - Recipient(s) must be seeking a graduate degree in mathematics education in the Department of Mathematics;
    - Preference for student(s) who demonstrate financial need;
    - Preference for student(s) who are single parents or experiencing significant family hardships; and
    - Recipient(s) must provide a personal statement that demonstrates financial hardships, including significant family or single parent hardships.